Since going vegetarian 2.5 years ago, there are surprisingly few things I miss.  Every now and then I get a craving for a nice steak, but one thing that really gets me are those lettuce wrap appetizers from PF Changs.  Oh man, so delicious!

So I set out to re-create those bad-boys, veg-style.  I basically just googled “PF Changs Lettuce Wraps Vegetarian” and tried the first recipe that came up.  It wasn’t difficult to make, just time consuming and requiring little bits of many kinds of sauces, so that was kind of annoying.  I couldn’t find those cool white crunchy noodle things that the wrap-filling is served over, so I just left them out.

They took a really long time to make, but they were pretty close to the way I remember the PF Changs Lettuce Wraps!  Unfortunately, I had been so wrapped up in making these guys (haha look at that pun), that I forgot that they are… you know… just an appetizer.  So I set the platter down at the dinner table and immediately realized that I was an idiot: I hadn’t made anything else for our dinner!   We ended up eating the entire platter, which was delicious.  But, we left the table with stomach aches (it was pretty oily) and still hungry. Not a very good combo…. So now I’ve learned to not be dumb, and next time I will at least make up a pot of rice or something.

Click here for the recipe.

