Okay so when I saw the Collard Greens, I immediately thought of the south.  The first thought that popped into my head when attempting to find a recipe for them was “Paula Deen! The modern Queen of Southern Cooking”  So I excitedly hopped on her website to see what free recipes I could steal from her.  I found lots of recipes… except they all had meat as the showcased component. Oops.  Really, it was pretty flawed logic on my part to think I could find any meat-free anything on Paula Deen’s website.  So after digging around some more on the interwebs, I came across this gem from everybody’s favorite Vegan Punk Rock Chef, Isa Moskowitz, who runs the Post Punk Kitchen.  I was so excited to do this recipe, because it look yummy and I’ve never cooked or even eaten Collard Greens before!

I was initially just going to make the “Hottie Black Eyed Peas” and skip the “Mashed Ginger Sweet Potatoes and Apples,” because I didn’t really want this to turn into an epic night of cooking.  But after looking over the recipes, I found that both dishes had several periods of waiting.  So if you started the mashed sweet potatoes and apples first, you could kind of jump back and forth between the two recipes without too much extra time spent.  It sounds really complex, but I swear it was super easy.

And let me just say DAMN I am so glad I ended up making both dishes because they went together perfectly!  If you make this, you have to make both dishes.  Also, I think this actually might just be my most favorite dinner so far from this whole CSA experiment!  I ate so much that my stomach was literally hurting for like an hour after because I was so full…

Hottie Black Eyed Peas & Collard Greens

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1 bunch collards, rough stems removed, shredded
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 15 oz cans black eyed peas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup veg broth
  • 1 tablespoon hot sauce (I used Sriracha)

Preheat a 4 quart pot over medium heat. Saute the onion in the oil until translucent, about 5 minutes. Use a little cooking spray if needed. Add the garlic and saute a minute more. Add the greens, 1/4 cup of water and salt. Cover the pot and cook the greens down for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add black eyed peas, tomato sauce and broth and thoroughly mix. Cover pot and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add hot sauce, then use a potato masher to mash some of the beans, about 1/4 of them, to thicken the sauce. Cook for about 5 more minutes uncovered. Taste for salt and seasoning. Serve hot.

 

Ginger Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Apples

  • 1 pound apples (2 average sized apples), peeled, cut into 1/2 inch chunks
  • 2 pounds sweet potatoes or yams, peeled, cut into 1/2 inch chunks
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 0.5 – 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh grated ginger

Preheat a 4 quart pot over low heat. Spray with cooking spray, then add apples, sweet potatoes, water and salt. Cover pot and slowly cook the apples and sweet potatoes for 20 minutes.

After 20 minutes, you can turn the heat up just a bit. Add a little more water if needed. Cover and cook 20 more minutes, paying close attention so that they don’t burn, and stirring often. When they’re very tender, they’re done. Mash with a potato masher. Add the honey, cinnamon and ginger, and mash some more. Taste for salt and seasoning. Serve warm.

